Election Facts and Figures

06 March 2017 - by Tristen Kelso

There are stories beyond the headlines coming from the Assembly election.

A number of high-profile representatives lost seats:

  •  Nelson McCausland (Belfast North) of the DUP, a former Executive minister (Culture, Arts and Leisure; Social Development);

  •  Former DUP Special Advisor to the First Minister and Chair of the Finance Committee Emma Little Pengelly (Belfast South);

  •  DUP Chair, and former Social Development Minister, Lord Maurice Morrow (Fermanagh and South Tyrone);

  •  The UUP’s Danny Kennedy (Newry and Armagh), a former Regional Development Minister who was first elected in 1998;

  •  Alex Attwood (Belfast West), SDLP MLA since 1998 and a former Environment Minister.

Some other quick facts:

  • The number of MLAs first elected in 1998 has now fallen to 10. The SDLP’s John Dallat (East Londonderry) returns to Stormont less than a year after not contesting the 2016 Assembly election;

  • Seven MLAs have been elected to the Assembly for the first time. Amongst these, Órlaithí Flynn of Sinn Féin (Belfast West) was co-opted to replace Jennifer McCann in December 2016;

  • Of the 90 MLAs elected, 27 are women, taking female representation at the Assembly to 30 per cent;

  • Of the 43 newly elected MLAs (including co-optees and former Members) who won seats in 2016, eight were unsuccessful in seeking re-election last week;

  • Overall, 19 incumbent MLAs were not re-elected.


A comparison of party strengths is set out below.